Pathea Games Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Planet Explorers Released!

Author Topic: Training - removal of micromanagement need[marked]  (Read 460 times)

Iron Newt

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Training - removal of micromanagement need[marked]
« on: February 11, 2017, 01:53:41 PM »

So currently we have up to 8 instructors and 8 trainees. However to have to explicitly allocate a trainee and instructor for each session, this means you waste loads of time managing the instructors/trainees, it also means that there's absolutely no point in having the ability to assign more than 2 instructors and 2 trainees to the training post (so you have the currently active instructor and trainee and the next instructor and/or trainee for a quick turn around).

What would be great is if you have a bank of instructor which bring teachable skills from which you then form a curriculum for a trainee. The training facility calls the instructors/trainees as needed or the training station becomes available. Eg. Have Ataro, Hitomi, & Vera as instructors then Lau and as a trainee. I set the curriculum as Elite Herbalist, Master Miner, Defence Boost II & Explorer Training III. Lau then has a single 37 minute training session involving all the relevant instructors, rather than the 6 sessions and  having to keep on checking to see if the latest session has finished.

EDIT: put in the end of the sentence in the first paragraph
« Last Edit: April 12, 2017, 02:44:52 AM by Dorist1 »
Logged

Luminaire

  • Global Moderator
  • Citizen
  • *****
  • Karma: 36
  • Posts: 485
  • Dream Deity
    • View Profile
Re: Training - removal of micromanagement need
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 11:37:30 AM »

It certainly would put a use to having more than one trainer and trainee in office, aswell as eliminate all the extra micromanagement of organizing people.. Having to nitpick select each individual each time for each specific goal tends to consume a lot of extra time and attention.

If there was a type of UI adjustement to be able to simply choose a trainee, and select skills from a list of all the skills currently being offered by all the trainers, and have them swap out automatically, it would ease up on a lot of micromanagement time and player work.
Logged

Omidawn

  • Settler
  • ***
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: Training - removal of micromanagement need
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2017, 06:02:38 PM »

I'm not sure if it has been done yet... I have been away.  I still think that one of the most useful training "tools" would be the ability to delete a current skill before learning a new one, even if you have to spend time "unlearning" it.  It is very useful to have a clean slate to work with on a trainee, if you are lucky enough to get one with really good base stats.

Then you can make train up instructors with specific skill sets who can train 5 skills at a time, instead of having to split the training between different instructors.  It takes a while to develop a good set of instructors, and you are really lucky if you find people with the highest level skills to teach.

Does anyone know if the medical skills have been fixed?  Many of them could not be trained, or could only be trained at the novice level, so decent medical personnel were hard to find.
Logged

Iron Newt

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Training - removal of micromanagement need[marked]
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2017, 11:17:21 AM »

Making training instructors takes a lot of time and only solves half the problem, you still have to go back repeatedly to go through the levels. Added to the fact I have 3 base skills I want, almost, all of my NCPs to have, leaving me with 2 skill slots for 'specialist' skills,

Simply give the trainee 5 skills to learn and they will over-ride any existing skill sets, the issue is the skill that's over-ridden when you're wanting to add just one more skill is fairly random. This is where a syllabus really comes into its own, you don't need an exact matching trainer to give the skill set you want
Logged