Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Planet Explorers Released!

Author Topic: HOW TO: Download ISOs at http://planet-explorers-isos.com(adfly problem solve)[  (Read 3091 times)

DaZz-Devil

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile

Hi folks,

after some time I figured out how to download Planet Explorer ISOs from http://planet-explorers-isos.com.

Unfortunately almost all off the adfly-links are outdated. When you try to download the ISOs with the provided link you'll get a adfly- message like this for example: http://adf.ly/1105970/banner/planet-explorers-isos.com/process/get-file.php?id=619
At the end the most of the people think that's not possible to download the ISOs anymore. But there's a way to handle the problem anyway.


HOW TO: Download ISOs from http://planet-explorers-isos.com

1. scroll with your mouse-corser over the ISO which you like to download
2. a green download and description link will appear
3. right-click on the download-link, copy the link and insert it in a new tab of your browser

now remove the striked throug part of the link: http://adf.ly/1105970/banner/planet-explorers-isos.com/process/get-file.php?id=619

your link should look like this now: http://planet-explorers-isos.com/process/get-file.php?id=619

after modifying the link just press ENTER and the download can be starter after waiting 5seconds.

Have fun with the ISOs and thanks to all the designers and contributers

greets
your DaZz
« Last Edit: July 25, 2016, 05:53:54 AM by Dorist1 »
Logged
Planet Explorers is awesome !

JolanXBL

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
PE ISO.com - Pay per click hosting
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2016, 10:10:37 PM »

The website now uses ouo.io for the click-revenue, although downloading from within the Details page is still broken.

I'd like to know what everyone thinks about generating revenue through clicks? The website hosting needs to be paid for, but at the same time your creations are earning someone else money. Personally I'm not fond of any adf.ly style links unless it's a companies' own service.. but the revenue here is small, and the extra steps to get the file aren't all that of a hassle.
Logged
BBCODE: http://forums.tieline.com/help/?area=bbcode
Setting image size: img width=640 height=360
If one missing, aspect ratio is preserved.

Zapheiros

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: PE ISO.com - Pay per click hosting
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2016, 12:47:41 AM »

The website now uses ouo.io for the click-revenue, although downloading from within the Details page is still broken.

I'd like to know what everyone thinks about generating revenue through clicks? The website hosting needs to be paid for, but at the same time your creations are earning someone else money. Personally I'm not fond of any adf.ly style links unless it's a companies' own service.. but the revenue here is small, and the extra steps to get the file aren't all that of a hassle.

I think you are a creator and don't want someone earning revenue / assistance to host the site then you shouldn't upload any files. That being said, if someone else uploads it on their behalf, the owner should be allowed to request to remove it (and be removed in a timely matter).

The site itself doesn't have intrusive advertising so I feel it's fine to white list it to download files. It's simple and clean.
Logged

Thundercraft

  • Citizen
  • ****
  • Karma: 9
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile

Ah! I had only been paying attention to replies to the threads I monitor, so I missed this thread.

Just in case not everyone knows this: Perhaps cutting and pasting was necessary when it was still using adf.ly. But, as I posted over here, there's an easier solution now:

When you get to step 2:
Quote
2. a green download and description link will appear

Just click on the Download link instead of the Description link. (Most people used to download through the Description link.)

It takes you to a new page and below will be a big blue download button with a countdown timer counting down 5 seconds. Wait for that to hit zero and click the button. The file will download properly.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2016, 07:00:17 AM by Thundercraft »
Logged

DirtyBird

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile

Tried it it just goes through the motion of downloading and get nothing in my downloads folder, All my Downloads are directed to that folder. Haven't tried the Solution that Dazz-Devil did. Seems like a long way around. And my security pops up and scans anything i download to it's been silent. So broken link for me.

Other then that i have posted on this myself, when i found out about it.

As for the Ad system as long as it's not infected and it generates some cash for his site and server upkeep i can see it. That is coming out of someones pocket. And most ads are clickers. Have had sales Site back in 2003 to 2004 that used ads to help generate moneys you get a cent or 2 for every click on the ad.

Well here's hoping the owner of the Site gets it all fixed.
Logged

Hogweed

  • Settler
  • ***
  • Karma: 11
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile

Hi DaZz - I answered your message. I uploaded all the old Iso's I had to dropbox, just need to know who to share to. If these are iso's that cant be found anywhere, you should make them available to others who might want them as well.
 Just let me know
Logged
Don't forget to Applaud if the answer you get to your question is helpful!! :)

Hogweed

  • Settler
  • ***
  • Karma: 11
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile

Also, there are 2 other locations you can download ISO's from.

One is Nexus Mods - http://www.nexusmods.com/planetexplorers/?

 Its a bit slow but direct, you do need a free account.

 The 2nd is right from the game iteself. Go to the multiplayer area, at the top you see a row of choices, The Workshop button opens all the Iso's that people have been adding, I am sure many from when the original Iso site went down. Its a bit harder to see them, but I am sure there are a lot of gems in there.

 But thats really it!
Logged
Don't forget to Applaud if the answer you get to your question is helpful!! :)

evilsmoo

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile

It appears that http://planet-explorers-isos.com/ is complete garbage now?  It just redirects to the click-counting site, which loops to itself, for me.  And if you click the other link, it tried to trick you into installing what is probably malware.

Nexus it is.   :P
Logged

Thundercraft

  • Citizen
  • ****
  • Karma: 9
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile

It appears that http://planet-explorers-isos.com/ is complete garbage now?  It just redirects to the click-counting site, which loops to itself, for me.  And if you click the other link, it tried to trick you into installing what is probably malware.

Nexus it is.   :P

Weird! Must be something on your end. Either that, or it was only messed up temporarily.

I just used  planet-explorers-isos.com today when I browsed for what was new and I even successfully downloaded an ISO.

And I just checked now and it seems to be fine. I clicked on your link above, even.
Logged

evilsmoo

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile

It appears that http://planet-explorers-isos.com/ is complete garbage now?  It just redirects to the click-counting site, which loops to itself, for me.  And if you click the other link, it tried to trick you into installing what is probably malware.

Nexus it is.   :P

Weird! Must be something on your end. Either that, or it was only messed up temporarily.

I just used  planet-explorers-isos.com today when I browsed for what was new and I even successfully downloaded an ISO.

And I just checked now and it seems to be fine. I clicked on your link above, even.

Well, they let me download twice.  After that, all the links just redirected without downloading anything.  Also, they have no version system either, so you can't tell if it's 1.0-usable, or old garbage.
Logged

Thundercraft

  • Citizen
  • ****
  • Karma: 9
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile

It appears that http://planet-explorers-isos.com/ is complete garbage now?  It just redirects to the click-counting site, which loops to itself, for me.  And if you click the other link, it tried to trick you into installing what is probably malware.
Well, they let me download twice.  After that, all the links just redirected without downloading anything.

Ah! Now I see what you were talking about. The site is currently using a URL redirect system which is similar to adFly. It uses ads to generate revenue, in the form of pop-under ad windows. (Yes, I hate them too.  :() However, it does not create pop-under ads every time. It only does that after several (at least two? random?) downloads.

If you saw it trying to install malware, perhaps it was the fault of whatever ad was being displayed? Have you seen that nasty fake Mozilla Firefox Update which tries to install malware? Those things are everywhere, particularly webcomic sites. Blame Google for failing to police the ads they sponsor.

If you're worried about the security of the actual ISO download, though, the files seem valid to me. My antivirus did not detect anything hinky, anyway.

Nexus it is.   :P

The selection of ISOs on Nexus is old and small. The selection on planet-explorers-isos.com is so much larger and, generally, far more current. Not even Workshop has that many, despite how fast it's growing.

Also, they have no version system either, so you can't tell if it's 1.0-usable, or old garbage.

Your point? ??? Everyday objects like furniture and signs will load into 1.0 without a hitch - without exception. AFAIK, only old (multi-muzzle) bullet guns and really, really old vehicles should cause a problem. That's been my experience, anyway.

In fact, out of the countless ISOs I have downloaded, I don't remember a single one that refused to load. At worst, they may generate an error or two about having a part that no longer exists or having too many of a type of part. But that is usually easy to fix: Just remove the excess or offending parts, or replace the part with an equivalent, then try to export it into the game.

Besides, Nexus does not have a version system, either.  :P
« Last Edit: November 25, 2016, 02:19:37 AM by Thundercraft »
Logged