Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Planet Explorers Released!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Tutorial on new server configuration  (Read 16405 times)

Dorist1

  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Posts: 2166
    • View Profile
Tutorial on new server configuration
« on: February 27, 2015, 06:56:31 AM »

Hi, everybody. After several updates, we now have a new server building instruction here.

As to the tests till now, servers that can run Planet Explorers include: Ubuntu Desktop, MAC OS and Win. Others might also run the game, but it needs a try.

We offer 3 ways to open a server at present:
1)Open through UI. In this way, the server is bound with your steam account, so you can open/close/delete the server whenever you log in with the identical steam account.
2)Run command line:(Root Directory)\Server>PE_Server.exe -batchmode (for server without interface)
3)Run command line:(Root Directory)\Server>PE_Server.exe (for server with interface)
 
Different executive files under different system:
Windows:
(Client Root Directory)/Server/PE_Server.exe

Linux:
(Client Root Directory)/Server/PE_Server.x86

Mac:
(Client Root Directory)/Server/PE_Server

Config File Path:
(Client Root Directory)/Server/ConfigFiles/ServerConfig.config
Note that the server will automatically make this file after the first launch. All you need to do is to change the configuration of it.

//Config starts
{"LobbyIP" : "192.168.1.126", //do not change
"LobbyPort" : 12534,
"ProxyIP"   : "192.168.1.126", //do not change
"ProxyPort" : 12535, //do not change
"TeamNum"   : 1, //1-4 [How many teams you would allow in your server]
"NumPerTeam" : 16, //1-32 (TeamNum * NumPerTeam <= 32)
"GameMode"   : 1, //0-story[Play through tasks with your friends];
                                1-adventure[Exploring the dangerous planet in your way];
                                2-build[Resources are prepared in this mode. You can enjoy building and test your creation here];
                                3-custom[Play with custom map from the World Editor]
"GameType"   : 0, //0-coop[Only one colony is allowed and all the players are supposed to finish the tasks together];
                               1-VS[Two teams build their own colonies and can fight against each other]; 
                               2-survival[Everyone are on their own and could have their own colony].
"MonsterYes" : true, //true{Monsters will spawn in the server];
                                    false[No monsters in the server]
"ServerName" : "yktest", //[This name can't be changed once the server is up, and please avoid using an identical server name with an existent one for a new server, because it would cause rewriting of the old one's parameters, and cause unpredictable damage to the old server.]
"MapName"    : "Story Demo", //[If you're loading a custom map, here you put the name of it.]
"MapSeed"    : "patheamaria", //[ If you change this one, you'd change the map's parameters in  adventure or build mode.]
"TerrainType" : 1, //1-grassland, 2-forest, 3-desert, 4-red stone, 5-rainforest, 6-mountain, 7-swamp, 8-crater
"ClimateType" : 1, //0-dry, 1-temperate, 2-water, 3-random
"VegetationType" : 1, //1-grassland, 2-forest, 3-desert, 4-redstone, 5-rainforest, 6-mountain, 7-swamp, 8-crater (this one should be the same as TerrianType)
"MasterRoleName" : "Unknown", //host name
"Password"       : "",
"PublicServer"   : false, //true [Your server is displayed in the "Internet" tab in the lobby, and can be accessed by someone from the internet.]
                                        false [You server is displayed in the "LAN" tab in the lobby, and only LAN players can access it.]
"Proxy"          : false, //(true or false)
"UseSkillTree"   : false, //(true or false)
"DropDeadPercent" : 10, //(0-100) [Drop rate when you die in game]
"UnlimitedRes"    : false, //(true or false) [Limited resources or unlimited resources in server]
"TerrainHeight"   : 512, //128m, 256m, 512m(this is the height of the whole map including sky)
"MapSize"         : 0, //4-[2km*2km], 3-[4km*4km], 2-[8km*8km], 1-[20km*20km], 0-[40km*40km]
"RiverDensity"    : 10, //1-100
"RiverWidth"      : 10, //1-100
"PlainHeight"      : 20, //1-100(this is the height of land)
"Flatness"      : 25, //1-100[The bigger this figure is, the flatter the land will be]
"BridgeMaxHeight"      : 30 //0-100
"AICount"         : 3//3-7[ the total amount of AI types in game]
}


//Config ends

Some notes:

1. The server program takes up UDP ports 9900-9915. So you can launch up to 16 server instances on one computer simultaneously.

2. If you plan on making your server public on the internet, please make sure all port-forwarding are done properly, or make it a DMZ server.As per how to make a port forwarding, please refer to: http://board.pathea.net/index.php?topic=2264.0

3. If you want to open more than one server through command line, just change the “ServerName” in “ServerConfig.conf”. (Note: do not use an identical server name with different configurations, for this may cause damage to the old server)
 
Hope this helps.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2016, 06:32:48 AM by Dorist1 »
Logged

Waltsu

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2015, 10:46:44 AM »

What about editing the command line to pass variables?
Source: http://board.pathea.net/index.php?topic=6639.15

./PE_Server.x86 -nographics 32#abc#Steam00000000000000000#User#My@++@TestServer#PatheaMap#260#0#True#9900#True#Planet@++@Maria#1#1#1#1#True#2#1#1

I run something like this, but it doesn't affect anything. How do the command line parametres work?
Logged

Dorist1

  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Posts: 2166
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2015, 01:37:49 AM »

Using command line to set the configuration is not work at present.  :D
Logged

Merlin

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2015, 05:44:37 PM »

I have the game on my server at home, downloaded via steam. I was able to get the server up and running and it shows up on the Internet tab in the server list  ("PublicServer"   : true).

I have forwarded port 9900 and 8800 UDP/TCP on my router to the internal ip address of my server which is 10.1.10.25

When I go to connect, I enter the password but I get connection time out and cannot connect.

Dorist, or anyone have any thoughts on what I may be missing?
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 12:05:13 AM by Merlin »
Logged

Dorist1

  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Posts: 2166
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2015, 03:57:48 AM »

It might caused by port forwarding failure. Try to set "useproxy=true".
Logged

Merlin

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2015, 04:01:26 PM »

It might caused by port forwarding failure. Try to set "useproxy=true".

Dorist, thank you so much. That worked!

For other readers, here is my final working ServerConf.conf file. In the Internet tab in game, my server now shows up as [Proxy]PeanutExp under the RoomName column. I can now join the server.

{
  "LobbyIP" : "74.81.173.196",
  "LobbyPort" : 12534,
  "ProxyIP"   : "119.28.5.150",
  "ProxyPort" : 12535,
  "TeamNum"   : 2,
  "NumPerTeam" : 16,
  "GameMode"   : 260,
  "GameType"   : 0,
  "MonsterYes" : true,
  "ServerName" : "PeanutExplorers",
  "MapSeed"    : "patheamaria",
  "TerrainType" : 2,
  "ClimateType" : 3,
  "VegetationType" : 2,
  "MasterRoleName" : "Peanut",
  "Password"       : "I wont tell you",
  "PublicServer"   : true,
  "Proxy"          : true,
  "DropDeadPercent" : 0,
  "UnlimitedRes"    : false,
  "MapSize"         : 0,
  "TerrainHeight"   : 128,
  "RiverDensity"    : 1,
  "RiverWidth"      : 1
}
Logged

YuYuYu5

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2015, 06:44:14 PM »

We've got the same problem, we're running the PE server.exe on a virtual machine, so far playing on the local network works fine, but our friends couldn't join us even though the portforwarding is active.
We tried changing the useproxy to true which solved the problem but now our firends have an 300 somewaht ping and are lagging all over the map...
Any idea how to solve this?
Thanks^^
Logged

Dorist1

  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Posts: 2166
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2015, 03:25:20 AM »

Poxy is the main cause of the delay, for the data need to transfer like 'server - proxy - client' rather than 'server - client'. But this is the only way to avoid port-forwarding failure we offered at present.
Logged

freelikegnu2

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 1
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2015, 03:29:38 AM »

Is there a string in the ServerConf.conf that will allow some descriptive text in the "Info:" box when in the server joining window?
Logged

Dorist1

  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Posts: 2166
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2015, 02:35:55 AM »

Is there a string in the ServerConf.conf that will allow some descriptive text in the "Info:" box when in the server joining window?

Thanks for your suggestion. We'll consider it in later development.
Logged

Bandus

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2015, 06:12:03 PM »

I recently setup a server. It appears to be running, I can see it in the browser in game, however, I cannot join it. I have ensured that all of the ports (9900-9915, 12534, and 8888-8903) are properly forwarded.

When attempting to join it indicates "Wait for Connection" and eventually it indicates "Connection Failed."

Also, this is my config file:


{
  "LobbyIP" : "74.81.173.196",
  "LobbyPort" : 12534,
  "ProxyIP"   : "119.28.5.150",
  "ProxyPort" : 12535,
  "TeamNum"   : 2,
  "NumPerTeam" : 16,
  "GameMode"   : 260,
  "GameType"   : 2,
  "MonsterYes" : true,
  "ServerName" : "MAGDY Adventures",
  "MapSeed"    : "Magnetar",
  "TerrainType" : 2,
  "ClimateType" : 1,
  "VegetationType" : 2,
  "MasterRoleName" : "Bandus",
  "Password"       : "secret",
  "PublicServer"   : true,
  "Proxy"          : false,
  "DropDeadPercent" : 10,
  "UnlimitedRes"    : false,
  "MapSize"         : 0,
  "TerrainHeight"   : 128,
  "RiverDensity"    : 5,
  "RiverWidth"      : 10
}

This seems to be the exact issue that Merlin mentioned earlier. I am quite confident at this point I have forwarded the ports properly (I even tried to put the server in the DMZ on the router) with no effect.

I would appreciate any suggestions or solutions as even if setting "Proxy" to true worked, it still spikes the ping to the server around 300 ms which is unplayable. Thank you!
« Last Edit: March 24, 2015, 06:37:12 PM by Bandus »
Logged

Dorist1

  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Posts: 2166
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2015, 01:59:17 AM »

Using proxy is the only method we adopted to avoid data losing at present. It'll lower the data transaction speed to some extend. We'll offer other ways if possible in later satge. :D
Logged

PrometheusVI

  • Citizen
  • ****
  • Karma: 11
  • Posts: 427
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2015, 02:05:48 PM »

It seems like UPNP has no effect when i try to host and ports must be forwarded manually, is that correct?
Logged

Dorist1

  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Posts: 2166
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2015, 02:19:33 AM »

PrometheusVI, you're right. UPNP is not work at present.
Logged

PlanB

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorial on new server configuration
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2015, 05:36:17 PM »

Is there more information about admin.conf?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3