Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Planet Explorers Released!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Typos and formatting errors go here  (Read 20413 times)

Gazz2

  • Global Moderator
  • Citizen
  • *****
  • Karma: 33
  • Posts: 461
  • I'm in your brains, thinking your thoughts.
    • View Profile
Typos and formatting errors go here
« on: April 07, 2013, 01:52:47 PM »

.
This sticky is where all typos, grammar, and formatting errors are collected.

Sorry if you find them annoying but as bugs go, these are low priority.

They need to be identified, though, so if you find one that isn't already listed, post it.

This way the forum doesn't get cluttered with lots of "bug reports" just because an "i" should be an "o". =)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 06:25:07 PM by Gazz »
Logged
Lord Corrector of the Universe? Yep, that's me!

Gazz2

  • Global Moderator
  • Citizen
  • *****
  • Karma: 33
  • Posts: 461
  • I'm in your brains, thinking your thoughts.
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2013, 02:44:26 PM »

.
Alpha 0.53:



...especially about something like this, but after seeing it a couple dozen times I have to say something.  :P

It should be "lose," not "loose," and "that was not saved."   ;D


There are actually more mistakes than just the "loose" in there. I suggest replacing it entirely with something simpler.
Long sentences are bad in confirmation prompts.


"Are you sure you want to go back to the Main Menu?
All unsaved changes will be lost.
"



Several quests at Camp Carter involve "preparing for a stampede". During that time a window with a timer is on screen.
The minutes:seconds are not formatted as time so at 7 minutes and 2 seconds it reads "7:2" instead of "7:02".



Save / load game window:

Same thing. The time stamp is not formatted as time.



The Bronze / Copper (sword) hilt cannot decide which one it is.

Tooltip (item designer) and item name / description do not match.



The tooltip for the female bronze helm says (m) when it should say (f).



It says you only get 1 resource/block when digging EARTH, which is a long long ago and far far away  :P

how about saying 'dirt (and stone?)' instead.   The shovel says when digging ore so I presume stone is not ore, but is marble stone?

At the very least the item description is unclear.



Game launcher, not in-game, control configuration:

"Fire 3" is auto run.
Unless there is any other functionality planned for "Fire 3", it should be renamed to "Auto run" or "Run toggle".



Quote from: Aku
Gerdy's "why did you come" text,

 typo: awall should be a wall



Pigments / dyes all have the same description.
Colour blindness (several forms) is not uncommon and that would make it impossible to tell which pigments you have or need.



Ingame options -> Misc:

Texts switched for "Camera Inverse Horizontal" and "Camera Inverse Vertical"



Ingame options -> Control:

2 buttons at the bottom are labeled "Contral1" and "Contral2".

Checkbox labeled "Camera Follow Player". I would expect "Camera Follows Player".

"ItemsList". Rename this to "Inventory" like in just about every game? Unimaginative can be good with UI. =)

"Vehicle N2O". I suggest "Vehicle Turbo" or "Vehicle Boost" unless there are specific features planned and N2O injection refers to precisely that.




Menus is general:

Many things like "TerrainDistance" are written as one word, no space. That looks very "under construction".



Quest short texts:

Kill quests are expressed as "Killed coelodonta: 4/5".
This is actually an order so it should read "Kill coelodonta: 4/5".

Collection quests:
"NeedItem laurel: 2/4". Better would be "Collect laurel: 2/4"



Custom weapons list their "Attack increasement" (is that even a word?). Should just be "Attack increase".



Tooltips:

Not a bug but where "standard" weapons like the iron bow have a green text "Need arrow equiped", custom guns have no text for ""Need bullets equipped".

(same with standard guns)



Tooltips:

"Need arrow equiped" should be "Need arrows equipped".

"Need bullet equiped" should be "Need bullets equipped".



Tooltips:

"You will get only 1 resource / block when diging earth".

In addition to the ambiguity of "earth" when referring to multiple but effectively undefined materials, "diging" is spelled with 3 "g".



Item designer, bottom menu:

The tab with the pigments is called "Dye".  Decide on one term and stick with it. =)



Item designer, export button tooltip:

"Export and creating an item" should read "Build an item for use in the game".

Exporting is geekspeak without any connection to building an item, which is what happens here.
If you like "Export", at least make it clear that this means actually building an item in game.
"Creating" an item is what you just did in this editor.



Item designer, Cost / Attribute window:

Should be "Cost" "Attributes". Plural.



Item designer, error message when switching item type:

"The scene will be cleared after changing the item type!
Do you want to save the last iso?"

You would not be saving the last ISO but the current one. IMO it should ask:

"Changing the item type will clear the current scene!
Do you want to save the current scene as an ISO?"



Ingame trade window:

It has 2 tabs "Buy" and "Sell".

This is mislabeled. Should be "Buy" and "Buy back" or "Sold items".



Ingame crafting window:

Item category drop-down lists a mix of plural and singular terms. Pick one.



General item tooltops:

Sometimes (like with place-able turrets) uses "defense", sometimes "defence". Pick one.

"sell price" and "buy price" sound odd. Shouldn't it be "selling price" and "buying price"?

Healing items have a stat "regain hp: 200".  In the character window this stat is called "health" so the tooltip should be "regain health: 200".



Tooltips:

"You already learned this script!" should be "You have already learned this script!"



Tooltips:

For some items all stats are in lowercase. Others follow normal capitalisation rules for everything.
Please pick one way so we know which ones are correct and which to be reported.


« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 08:18:21 AM by Gazz »
Logged
Lord Corrector of the Universe? Yep, that's me!

Zifei

  • The guy that runs Pathea Games
  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 240
  • Posts: 2115
  • Space Pirate!
    • View Profile
    • Pathea Games
Re: Typos and formatting
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2013, 03:46:19 PM »

Oh good, this thread will help a lot! Bring it on!
Logged

Gazz2

  • Global Moderator
  • Citizen
  • *****
  • Karma: 33
  • Posts: 461
  • I'm in your brains, thinking your thoughts.
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2013, 07:54:02 PM »

Don't make me nitpick.
You wouldn't like me when I nitpick.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 08:19:26 AM by Gazz »
Logged
Lord Corrector of the Universe? Yep, that's me!

MrsCrimson

  • Settler
  • ***
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2013, 07:59:45 AM »

Disclaimer: I'm neither a grammar expert or professional editor.

More nitpicking: (bold emphasis = changes)


Quote
I...don't know. I've seen all the early zoological and biological reports from our deep space probes and we never found any sign of these creatures at all. (alt: any evidence of these creatures) And mind you, our probe technology was pretty damn good; HD cameras, sensitive spectrometers, magnetometers, infrared cameras, the whole shebang. There were some structure-like objects on the Newton Continent that had us guessing, but that just wasn't enough evidence to suggest anything.  Of course, the probe carrying the exploration robots did crash during landing, so that might have had something to do with it as well.



Quote
Are you suggesting the aliens could be the reason for the radio interference? It's a point worth considering. However they look more as if they might only just now be emerging from an Iron Age. I highly doubt they'd be able to create anything advanced enough to scramble electronic data.


.....most of the story dialogue I've read "reads" ok, outside of the occasional glaring single-word or punctuation error here and there, but some would, imo, generally "flow" better with a bit of sentence editing. All subjective of course.
Logged

Gazz2

  • Global Moderator
  • Citizen
  • *****
  • Karma: 33
  • Posts: 461
  • I'm in your brains, thinking your thoughts.
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2013, 08:22:01 AM »

I have to agree. All conversations could use a proof-read before 1861 individual errors are reported. =)
Logged
Lord Corrector of the Universe? Yep, that's me!

MrsCrimson

  • Settler
  • ***
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2013, 09:07:36 AM »

hehe...yup. I didn't want to pile it on....thought those two made good examples tho. :)
Logged

wraithbone

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2013, 11:32:41 AM »

Disclaimer: I'm neither a grammar expert or professional editor.


Quote
Are you suggesting the aliens could be the reason for the radio interference? It's a point worth considering. However they look more as if they might only just now be emerging from an Iron Age. I highly doubt they'd be able to create anything advanced enough to scramble electronic data.


.....most of the story dialogue I've read "reads" ok, outside of the occasional glaring single-word or punctuation error here and there, but some would, imo, generally "flow" better with a bit of sentence editing. All subjective of course.

The rest is good but the Iron Age is correct over an Iron Age. The Iron Age is the name of a time period in human history and therefore a proper noun (as denoted by the capital letters).

Nitpicking. But nothing breaks the 4th wall like bad grammar. =)

Logged

MrsCrimson

  • Settler
  • ***
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2013, 08:12:31 AM »

I used "an" because I figured the comment was trying to say their look was just similar to our human Iron Age...and "the" makes it sound too much like he's saying they're actually from our Iron Age vs. their own alien version of one.

But as I said ... I don't know all the proper grammar rules anymore, heh.
Logged

Vad

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2013, 11:15:54 AM »

Dayita Saxina [Right after the firebear rescue quest]
[edit]Asking about the Epiphany.

"I don't know the exact facts. Stuff from Earth break, obviously. If it had been a martian ship it would have gotten no more than a scratch."

Should be "breaks" not break.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 12:13:21 PM by Vad »
Logged

nwalker

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: -4
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2013, 03:19:56 PM »

Kill quests are expressed as "Killed coelodonta(s): 4/5".
This is actually an order so it should read "Kill coelodonta(s): 4/5".

Collection quests:
"NeedItem laurel: 2/4". Better would be "Collected laurel(s): 2/4"
Logged
If you want to be butt hurt, you can shove something up it yourself and make yourself butt hurt and blame it on me  -Malus Tepes, the Mod-

CFxxx

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #11 on: July 12, 2013, 03:24:56 PM »

Haha, too many typos and grammatical errors to note in general. But here's a typo when I happened to have my browser open:
Multiplayer register screen: Comfirm password should be Confirm password...
Logged

Lt_Karnage

  • Citizen
  • ****
  • Karma: 11
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2013, 05:26:08 PM »

Hi,

in help for 0.6a the text is all messed because it like space between word (Resolution 1920x1200).
Fixed in 0.61
« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 08:02:03 AM by Lt_Karnage »
Logged

ex3me

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 17
  • Failure is not an option.
    • View Profile
0.60 Storage VI?
« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2013, 09:41:53 AM »

Hi!
Under the colony tab in the storage building you can read the following

Storage I Storage II Storage III Storage VI

If it is supposed to be numred strict it should be

Storage I Storage II Storage III Storage IV

But maybe storage IV and V are for the blackmarket and are not accounted for in the bookkeeping  ;)
Logged
The moon is the first milestone on the road to the stars.

yarnevk

  • Andhera Rider
  • Planetary Hero
  • ******
  • Karma: 51
  • Posts: 2297
    • View Profile
Re: Typos and formatting errors go here
« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2013, 01:50:28 AM »

.62 If you return to Doc from the tree before going to Chen, your dialogue option says Chen is coming soon.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4