Pathea Games Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Planet Explorers Released!

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Yet another ineractive map[marked]  (Read 7873 times)

jokedst

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 6
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Planet Explorers Interactive Map
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2014, 04:50:04 PM »

I've added a search function now if anyone is interested ;)

Also, I'll update the first post in this thread in the future with new features (if any).

Jiimm

  • Citizen
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2014, 06:36:43 PM »

Thank you for doing all this.
Logged

roger4325

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 7
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2014, 08:19:08 PM »

thank you for all your trouble and is it just me or without the island does the map sorta resemble the shape of a brain from the side
Logged

Luminaire

  • Global Moderator
  • Citizen
  • *****
  • Karma: 36
  • Posts: 485
  • Dream Deity
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2014, 09:54:53 PM »

is it just me or without the island does the map sorta resemble the shape of a brain from the side

It... I.... ugh.. Thanks for that. Now i have to wonder if that was intentional.
Logged

jokedst

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 6
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Planet Explorers Interactive Map
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2014, 09:14:08 AM »

Thank you for the thank you's. :)

I'm mostly doing this for fun - I'm a web developer by trade and this lets me test some ideas and frameworks I can't in my job.

And it DOES look like a brain! :P

About the "add items" feature - since the last two interactive maps on these forums both got lost, probably because of lack of interest from the developers, I thought I'd develop this like I do at work - "always design systems to handle you getting hit a by a bus tomorrow" ;)

So even if I (against all likelihood) disappeared I thought I'd make sure the map will always work, and new items could be added.

The hosting I've got fixed - the site will not go down as long as appharbor is still in business, which I think they will be for the foreseeable future.

As for adding content, I was thinking about a wiki-like approach.
Anyone can add content. That content will be in a "user added content"-layer that must be activated manually if you want to see it. This would include edit and remove items.

A few trusted users can promote user added content to official content. (this would require a login)

Does that sound like overkill?
The alternative is
1. I do all the updates and stay around forever
2. Someone else with programming background gets write access to the appharbor git repository and do updates

Ashghan

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2014, 04:49:13 PM »

First off - much kudos for making the map. I really helps, especially mining-wise.

Also.
I wanted to add a few mining locations that are missing from the map (Desert and Forest mostly), but could you perhaps post a format in which I should list them to make them easy to add. Should it be <coords> | <Ore Type(s)>, or something else?
Logged

jokedst

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 6
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Planet Explorers Interactive Map
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2014, 05:20:07 PM »

This would work fine:

<location>|<ores>|<description>

Example:

11017, 8205 | iron, copper | (Maybe Silver and Zinc, too)

Or, if you want to be super helpful, in json like this: ;)

{ type: 'ore', location: [11017, 8205], ores: ['iron', 'copper'], description: '(Maybe Silver and Zinc, too)' },

(not really necessary though)

Ashghan

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #22 on: December 05, 2014, 05:35:07 PM »

Since I might want ;) to be ultra helpful - is there some special code to use for the colored, single-type ore veins?
Logged

jokedst

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 6
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Planet Explorers Interactive Map
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #23 on: December 05, 2014, 05:41:18 PM »

No, if there is only one ore type it gets that color.

The green icons are when there are multiple ore types.

It figures out that by itself, but the "ores" must still be an array, so like this:

ores: ['iron']

will make the icon the right color :)
« Last Edit: December 05, 2014, 05:47:16 PM by jokedst »
Logged

Ashghan

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #24 on: December 06, 2014, 11:20:42 AM »

I tried to map the southern part of the desert (in comfortable travelling range from Ancient City) and this is it. It's by no means 100% accurate - the locations given are ones where using the scanner will show the deposits. And I might have missed some deposits, too. Side note - Desert's coast seems strangely devoid of minerals (unlike Grassland).

{ type: 'ore', location: [2646, 7144], ores: ['silver'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [2520, 8080], ores: ['iron'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [2146, 8672], ores: ['iron'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [1903, 8784], ores: ['petroleum'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [1476, 8273], ores: ['aluminium'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [1138, 8845], ores: ['iron'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [3055, 9311], ores: ['copper'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [2866, 9031], ores: ['silver'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [2533, 9178], ores: ['copper'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [1476, 9056], ores: ['aluminium'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [1318, 9804], ores: ['iron'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [1395, 10159], ores: ['silver'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [1813, 10841], ores: ['copper'], description: '' },
{ type: 'ore', location: [3127, 10967], ores: ['aluminium'], description: '' },

Also, 2 locations of Giant Robot (I call them Guardians) spawns (3 in each location):
2470, 9664 - on top of a gold-copper deposit
1597 9716
Logged

jokedst

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 6
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Planet Explorers Interactive Map
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #25 on: December 06, 2014, 12:19:34 PM »

Great! Thanks!
I won't be at a computer for the next 30 hours or so, I'll add them then.

But since you did submit them in that format i might be able to do it from my phone... Hmmm. Unlikely, but worth a try :) something to do on the train I'll be on for the next hour. ;)

The giant robot spawn points deserve a new icon I think. ;)

jokedst

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 6
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Planet Explorers Interactive Map
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #26 on: December 06, 2014, 12:41:26 PM »

 ;D I can't believe that actually worked! I'm going to start coding from my mobile exclusivly from now on! ;)

Ok, your ores are up on the map! Thanks again!

Rouverius

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #27 on: December 06, 2014, 06:04:50 PM »

Great idea. Excited by this map. Just a few corrections...
Abandoned Mountain City (6825, 13068) does not seem to be there in A0.85. Can someone else confirm?
Also, I have few addition requests.
  • Pujan Settlement (10411, 12148) ... doesn't seem to create an icon in the PE map yet though (bug?).
  • There is a passable wall breach at (12105, 9908)
  • Also there is some kind of Octopus looking juggernaut thingy around (11434, 10230)... anybody know what that is?


Logged

jokedst

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 6
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Planet Explorers Interactive Map
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #28 on: December 07, 2014, 01:36:01 PM »

Yes, the abandoned mountain city was removed from 0.85 because it wasn't ready.

I should probably remove it from the map too.

ukkopukumi

  • Citizen
  • ****
  • Karma: 17
  • Posts: 285
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another ineractive map
« Reply #29 on: December 07, 2014, 01:52:01 PM »

Yes, the abandoned mountain city was removed from 0.85 because it wasn't ready.

I should probably remove it from the map too.
Just change description to include "removed as of 0.85" or something that gives the proper information. Otherwise people just keep re-reporting it :P
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3