Pathea Board

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

My Time at Portia enters Early Access on Jan 23rd 2018!

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Mining Robot  (Read 9591 times)

Zifei

  • The guy that runs Pathea Games
  • Administrator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 242
  • Posts: 2186
  • Space Pirate!
    • View Profile
    • Pathea Games
Re: Mining Robot
« Reply #30 on: December 20, 2013, 05:03:35 PM »

No no, that's what the monkey poo's for! Chen's Homing Monkey Poo Technology (tm), coming soon to a NPC store near you!
Logged

Malus Tepes

  • Dark Lord of Pathea Contests
  • Global Moderator
  • Planetary Hero
  • *****
  • Karma: 145
  • Posts: 2878
  • Leader of the New Marians
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Robot
« Reply #31 on: December 21, 2013, 03:03:35 AM »

No no, that's what the monkey poo's for! Chen's Homing Monkey Poo Technology (tm), coming soon to a NPC store near you!

I'm going to make this a contest now. 1 vanity weapon.  my weapon will be "the CHMPT"  and It will shoot monkey turds.   Its subtext will be that long name. 
Logged
I am the Head of the New Marians Guild.

SolidFox

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Robot
« Reply #32 on: January 04, 2014, 11:05:55 PM »

If you have to teleport the robot around you can just replace it with a mining satellite.
It shoots a mining death ray from orbit and beams the minerals back down to a nearby base.

But this is not fun...  a good pathfinding is the beste solution.

it can hover to prevent it from falling into ditches and also have a drilling machine (or laser) to cross mountains.
there are a lot of fun solutions :D

What is the difference between an autobot and a mining sateliite?  They both harvest without you having to be there.   The same result could be accomplished by giving your NPC a pick.   Or even better for the plot, you enslave the Marians and force them to work the mines!

If you build an underground mining satellite, show me so I can laugh myself to death about a satellite that orbits a planet beneath the surface.


Though in all seriousness, perhaps a remote control miner could come in handy, unless the giant spider-crabs think it's dinner too ;_;
Logged

Damaged Neko

  • Enlistee
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Robot
« Reply #33 on: January 06, 2014, 08:32:19 PM »

only fun part of a mining laser satellite would be if you could mine under the enemy Village and drop them into a hole ^.^ then fill it with over with dirt, or oil and set it on fire.. *whistles*
Logged

Gazz

  • Global Moderator
  • Citizen
  • *****
  • Karma: 31
  • Posts: 504
  • is personal
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Robot
« Reply #34 on: January 07, 2014, 11:32:31 AM »

If you have an orbital magic mining laser (that somehow transports mineral... somewhere?) it is unlikely that anything would be left of the village after you turn it into molten stone.
Lasers heat up stuff. That's all they do.
Logged

RheeSykler

  • Colonist
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Robot
« Reply #35 on: March 05, 2018, 09:43:49 PM »

I still want native enslavement too, or....peace, alliance, trade with the natives. Native soldiers work with you and guarding your bases. Because if those huge towering laser spewing robot things are any indication, you're gonna need a lot of help.

The Alliance would be excellent , is there not too much slavery in our history as it is , also it would be nice if there was another monetary system other than meat such as Gold Coins / Silver Coins , Diamonds ( even though these are already in play ) ....etc
Logged

Omidawn

  • Citizen
  • ****
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Robot
« Reply #36 on: March 17, 2018, 12:21:08 AM »

Rather than a mining robot, can we just improve the processor skills of the colonists?  As far as I can tell, colonist resource skills only work in solo adventure mode, and only when commanded as a follower to "go to work."

It would be really nice if the colonists who have these resource skills (logging, herbalist, mining, hunter, and explorer) actually have a skill level boost on the processing speed of requests that ask for those particular items in the processor.  As far as I can tell (from swapping out colonists with skills and colonists without skills) there is no discernible difference between having them and not having them.
If processor speed is enhanced to the level of minutes per thousand instead of hours per thousand, then the need for mining robots would be almost unnecessary, not to mention does not actually diminish any of the available surface resources.

Since there are 5 skill slots, you could train your process specialists to be highly skilled in all 5 areas, thus speeding up every possible process request.

This would be similar to the speed boost given by workers with the replicator, strengthen, repair, and recycle skills.

As a side note, the processor is currently allowing all colonists to be assigned to Process0, regardless of other duties, and you can move up to 4 out of 5 processor specialists to Process1, Process2, and Process3.  One process specialist is always glitched into Process0 and cannot be moved to a different process.  However this does give you 2 slots with fairly good process times... ~20 colonists on process0 and 4 colonists on process1.

It would also be very nice if followers in every game mode were able to present you with the same resource package that is brought to you in solo adventure mode when you tell them to "go to work."  This would be extremely helpful during the time before a colony and colony processor is built, and makes finding followers with these skills very useful to travel with in the early game.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]